Introduction to the Center of East Asian Studies (CEAS)

The Center for East Asian Studies (CEAS) at the University of Arizona is a Title VI National Resource Center supported by the U.S. Department of Education. CEAS supports and promotes East Asian language and cultural studies related teaching and research throughout the University. In the community, CEAS cultivates deeper understandings of East Asia through outreach to K-16 schools, organizations, and local residents.

With over 60 affiliated University of Arizona faculty members in many disciplines whose work engages with East Asia, CEAS aims to consolidate East Asia-related resources on campus, in the region, and beyond to significantly impact the study of East Asia in southern Arizona and across the southwestern US.  

Established in 2022, CEAS at the University of Arizona focuses on themes that simultaneously define our current national and international needs and are relevant to Arizona’s concerns. CEAS’ activities are organized with the conceptual framework of promoting intercultural and interdisciplinary understandings of sustainability and diversity while bringing East Asia to the diverse audiences that it serves.

As the first Title VI NRC focusing on East Asia at a Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI), CEAS aims to produce equitable and inclusive access to East Asia learning in the state, region and nation through its activities. Finally, as the state of Arizona becomes a key player in the reshaping of the relationship between East Asia and the US, CEAS will contribute significantly to the state’s new economy by placing Arizona as the nexus where Asia interacts with the US and Latin America.  

Please contact CEAS or join our mailing list to see how we can help strengthen the links between Arizona and East Asia together.
The contents of this website were developed under grant #P015A220099 from the U.S. Department of Education. The contents do not necessarily represent the policy of the U.S. Department of Education.
The Center for East Asian Studies respectfully acknowledges the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples. Today, Arizona is home to 22 federally recognized tribes, with Tucson being home to the O'odham and the Yaqui. Committed to diversity and inclusion, the University strives to build sustainable relationships with sovereign Native Nations and Indigenous communities through education offerings, partnerships, and community service.